Biography

Marco Somadossi was born in Rovereto, Italy, in 1968. He studied music at the Conservatory “F. A. Bonporti” in Trento, where he graduated with degrees in Trombone Performance and Instrumentation for Band with Daniele Carnevali. In Tilburg (NL) he completed a doctorate in Conducting and Composition for Wind Band with honorable mention. Additionally, he studied composition with Stephen Melillo (USA) and James Barnes (USA), and conducting with Jan Cober (NL), Felix Hauswirth (CH) and Jo Conjaerts (NL).

After an intense performance career, he has committed to composing and conducting wind bands and other instrumental ensembles. Often invited as guest conductor in renowned music festival in Italy and abroad, Somadossi is also a much soughtafter lecturer and director of conducting courses. He has been the director of the Wind Band “Mario Mascagni’’ of Bolzano, and he is currently the conductor of the Wind Band of Albiano (Trento), the Youth Wind Band of Friuli Venezia Giulia, and the Youth Wind Orchestra of the Lazio Region. His compositions, published by Scomegna Music Editions, have been selected as compulsory pieces by some of the most recognized performance competitions in Italy and Europe and have been performed in Europe, the United States of America, and Asia. Besides original works for wind orchestra, he has also written various transcriptions and arrangements, always preserving a personal and recognizable style. He worked in the folk music field, as well as in popular music, where he has collaborated with popular singers such as Antonella Ruggiero, Tosca, Goran Bregovic and Chiara Luppi.

As a composer, he won First Prize at the 7th International Contest “Pietro Pernice” 2004 (Fanfare and Hymn for Peace), Second Prize at the 21st International Wind Band Composition Contest of Corciano 2000 (Via della Terra); Second Prize at the wInternational Contest for original wind band composition ARGE-ALP 1998 (Sah); and Second Prize at the Internatioanl Contest of Composition for Youth Band of Sinnai 2011 (Klezmer Junior). He has produced numerous recordings with radio and television broadcast companies in Italy and with the labels Scomegna and Amadeus. Marco Somadossi is often invited as a jury member at national and international performance and composition wind band competitions. He is professor of composition and wind band conducting at the Consevatory of Music “Jacopo Tomadini” in Udine. 

Marco Somadossi has been making music with a lot of great musicians of the bands, the ensembles, orchestras who directed but also with:

Chiara Luppi

Antonella Ruggiero

Tosca

Giovanni Sollima violoncello, www.giovannisollima.it

Andrea Noferini, primo violoncello solista dell’Orchestra dell’Opera di Roma, 

Enrico Maria Baroni, primo clarinetto dell’Orchestra Sinfonica della Rai di Torino, www.enricomariabaroni.com

Simonide Braconi, prima viola dell’Orchestra del Teatro della Scala di Milano, www.simonidebraconi.it

Davide Cabassi, pianoforte (premio Van Cliburn), www.davidecabassi.net

Giuseppe Cacciola, primo percussionista dell’Orchestra del Teatro della Scala di Milano

Federico Caldara, clavicembalo (premio European Music Competition), federicocaldara.blogspot.it

Francesco d’Orazio violino (XXIX premio Abbiati), www.francescodorazio.com

Fabrizio Meloni, primo clarinetto dell’Orchestra del Teatro della Scala di Milano, www.fabriziomeloni.it

Massimo Polidori, primo violoncello dell’Orchestra del Teatro della Scala di Milano,

Ruggero Mascellino fisarmonicista-compositore, docente Conservatorio di Palermo, www.ruggieromascellino.it

Giampaolo Pretto primo flauto dell’orchestra Sinfonica della Rai di Torino, index.php

Francesco Siragusa primo contrabbasso dell’Orchestra del Teatro della Scala di Milano, www.francescosiragusa.it

Giulio Tampalini chitarra (premio Narciso Yepes e Andrès Segovia), www.giuliotampalini.it

Gino Zambelli, bandoneon Home.html

Luca Ballerini pianoforte

Azusa Kinashi (J) soprano, kinaazu

Walter Franceschini baritono, www.walterfranceschini.net

Luca Fanfoni violino, docente Conservatorio Parma, www.lucafanfoni.it

Roberto Noferini violino, docente Conservatorio Matera, Home.html

Marco Pierobon tromba, docente Conservatorio Bolzano www.marcopierobon.com

Pepè Fiore percussioni

Marianna Prizzon, soprano

Diego Cavazzin, tenore

ha collaborato con:

Raffaele Cacciola compositore-editore, docente Conservatorio Milano, Bartok_Studio.html

Gianni Vallino e Cinzia “Cix” Rosa  karibustudio.com/

Sandro Filippi compositore, direttore di coro, docente Conservatorio Bolzano, www.sandrofilippi.it

Marco Betta compositore, docente Conservatorio Palermo, www.marcobetta.com

Ruggero Laganà clavicembalo, compositore, docente Conservatorio Milano,

Giovanni Grosskopf compositore, docente Conservatorio Milano, www.gkweb.it

ha lavorato con:

Stefano Gatta direttore della Banda Militare della Repubblica di San Marino,

Andrè Waignein (B) compositore-direttore, index.php?lang=italian

Stephen Melillo (USA) compositore-direttore, www.stephenmelillo.com

Walther Ratzek (D) direttore del Musikkorps der Bundeswehr ,

Thomas Doss (A) compositore-direttore, conductor_vita.html

Daniele Carnevali compositore-direttore, docente Conservatorio Trento, www.danielecarnevali.com/

Lorenzo Pusceddu compositore-direttore,

Marco Tamanini compositore-direttore, docente Conservatorio Trento,

Jo Conjaerts (B) direttore, docente Conservatorio di Maastricht

Angelo Depaola compositore, direttore, docente Conservatorio di Cosenza,

Michele Netti direttore, compositore,

Gaetano Pisano direttore,

Maurizio Managò direttore,

Fulvio Creux direttore della Banda dell’Esercito Italiano,

Otto Schwarz (A) compositore,

Philippe Langlet (F) tromba, direttore,

Alain Crepin (B) compositore, direttore della Royal Band of Belgian Air Force, docente Conservatorio di Bruxelles www.alaincrepin.be/

Hardy Mertens (NL) compositore, direttore, docente Conservatorio Tilburg, www.hardymertens.nl/

Gottfried Veit compositore, www.gottfriedveit.it/

Francisco Grau Vegara (E) compositore, direttore della Banda della Guardia Reale Spagnola,

Donald Furlano compositore,

Enea Tonetti direttore Fiati Insieme di torino

Giancarlo Gazzani compositore, direttore Rai di Roma, docente Conservatorio Torino

Jacob de Haan (NL) compositore www.jacobdehaan.com/

Miro Saje (SLO) direttore

Miguel Etchegoncelay (ARG), direttore

Fried Dobbelstein (NL) direttore

Janis Purins (LV) direttore

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Annunci